Thursday, April 24, 2008

Jimmy, Out of the Cellar!

Jimmy Ruffin - I Know How to Love Her

A couple of weeks ago I featured Jimmy Ruffin on this blog, and I'll visit with him again on today's selection, which went unreleased until the first volume of A Cellarful of Motown came out. "I Know How to Love Her" features cheerful, confident singing by Ruffin and the background singers over a swinging groove full of that Motown magic. I can't figure out for the life of me why this didn't get released - it's as solid as a lot of the product coming out on any of Berry Gordy's labels at the time. I suppose it's an ultimate testament to the quality and quantity of work they were doing at Hitsville, U.S.A. for stuff like this to be passed over!

1 comment:

Unknown said...

peace yall..check it out:

live mix by DJ Dmadness (Oakland, CA)
recorded at SF soul party Devil’s Pie
all vinyl selections
for download link

1 i will be your friend
2 smooth operator
3 slave song
4 hang on to your love
5 never as good as the first time
6 pearls (somalia mix)
7 paradise
8 turn my back on you
9 kiss of life
10 clean heart
11 cherry pie
12 war of the hearts
13 keep looking
14 the sweetest taboo
15 tar baby
16 love is stronger than pride (mad professor remix)
17 king of sorrow (guru remix)
18 cherish the day (ronin remix)
19 is it a crime
20 no ordinary love
21 by your side (the neptunes remix)
22 your love is king